Names cannot be unregistered until they expire and their grace period runs out. However, there are some steps that can be taken to remove functionality or ownership.
- Removing your address records means that people can no longer look up your address with the name. - You can remove a primary name from settings. - You can transfer ownership to a burn address (eg: 0x0000…dead).
Keep in mind that nothing can erase the fact that you owned a name in the past as it is all on chain. Names will also become available for registration again, once they expire.
Yes, you can get your deposit back from reclaim.ens.domains whether you extended the registration of the name or not.
Please remember that the amount you will receive is the amount of the second-highest bidder (unless you were the only bidder). For example, if you bid 1 ETH and the second highest bidder bid 0.1 ETH, you deposited 0.1 ETH and you have already received the remaining (0.9 ETH) when you finailsed the auction. Therefore you can now only reclaim 0.1 ETH back. Please read the the initial guide back in 2017 for more detail.